Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1) By Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Posted on Updated on

IMG_5150

Book Description:

Is falling in love the beginning . . . or the end?

In Ethan Wate’s hometown there lies the darkest of secrets . . .

There is a girl. Slowly, she pulled the hood from her head . . . Green eyes, black hair. Lena Duchannes.

There is a curse. On the Sixteenth Moon, the Sixteenth Year, the Book will take what it’s been promised. And no one can stop it.

In the end, there is a grave.

Lena and Ethan become bound together by a deep, powerful love. But Lena is cursed and on her sixteenth birthday, her fate will be decided. Ethan never even saw it coming.

My Rating: 4/5

“Mortals. I envy you. You think you can change things. Stop the universe. Undo what was done long before you came along. You are such beautiful creatures.”

THIS QUOTE THOUGH!! AGH! I gots the chills reading that for the first time! I find when books incorporate the title into the story, it’s either really exciting like this one was for me or reallllllly lame. Not to mention the timing; I like how it was held off till the near ending of the book. Great job with this one ladies!

I recommend this for:

Fantasy/Magic lovers!

I adore this book SO much. I might have been influenced though because I saw the movie (like 10 times) before I read the book. I LOVE the movie!! The book itself was fantastic. It was in-depth and it made me feel like I was right there in Gatlin alongside Lena and Ethan. Like I was Boo following them around, I literally felt like the eyes of this dog that they talk about so much. I also really enjoyed that they took a typical southern small town setting and threw in this new world that would shake it up. I’ve been to small towns, I have family that live in small towns, they hit the nail on the head with this. Oh and the term “Casters” sounds so sophisticated/intellectual/mature/respectable, I would rather be a “caster” than a “witch” being I’m light or dark; good or evil. I already feel so much more respected being labeled a “caster.” The only thing I can come up with as to why this story is so controversial (and by that I mean why there’s so many mixed reviews as to how many people enjoy this book and how much more dislike it) is because it is a slow read. I feel you really have to use your imagination to get lost in this book, which is why I said I might have been influenced because I had a lot of the images filled in for me already. But at the same time, it’s why I enjoyed it! I got so much more out of the book than from the film. Details, details, details!

Another thing that I noticed quite a few negative reviews mentioned was Lena and Ethan’s relationship. I personally feel people judged this way too harshly. It sounds like a pretty normal high school relationship to me. You have one kid, Ethan, who lives in a small town where he knows everyone and everyone knows him. Then Lena moves in to town. Any and every one is going to be interested in her because SHE’S NEW. Ethan just so happens to be the one that gets her attention (him being drawn to her helps) and of course she’s stand offish at first! Who wouldn’t be if you were put in her shoes? Eventually when Lena let’s her guard down, they’re able to build a connection. And like ANY high schooler, Lena feels the need to push Ethan away, not because she wants to but because she has some insecurities, these being her not knowing her future of going light or dark. And like anyone who’s been in love, especially for the first time, will chase after that. SO COME ON, lighten up people. One last thing I have to rant on is people saying that this book is just bad writing. It’s one thing to dislike a book, but it’s a low ball to claim something as “bad writing” when it’s just not. There are plenty of books out there that I can’t stand, literally, would rather use as toilet paper or a fire starter than to read it ever again, but I would never put down the writing. Not saying it’s always the case though because I have read a few that I swear must’ve been a joke. Oh and can we talk about that ending?! Whaaaat?! I won’t give away any details but be prepared for multiple curve balls! With all that being said, I stand by this book. The writing is great, the story telling is captivating, it has good morale, it’s relatable AND IT HAS MAGIC, what more could you want?! 😀 I can’t wait to see what happens with Lena and Ethan in book 2 (Beautiful Darkness)!

** Click Here For My Book-To-Film Adaptation Review **

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1) By Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

    2015 September Bookhaul « TheNerdyBookmark said:
    January 30, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    […] & Noble = $38 (including tax) 1.) Beautiful Creatures, Bk. 1 (Caster Chronicles/Beautiful Creatures Series) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl; paperback 2.) Are You There Vodka, It’s Me Chelsea? by […]

    Like

    […] ⦁ Beautiful Creatures ⦁ Beautiful Darkness ⦁ Beautiful Chaos ⦁ Beautiful Redemption […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

