Beautiful Creatures (Movie Edition) **WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD**

Posted on Updated on

Beautiful Creatures Movie Poster

Directed By Richard LaGravenese

My Rating: 10/5

Hands down one of my favorite movies! I will admit, I saw this way before I read the book and I LOVED IT SO MUCH. I watched it like 10 times and it may or may not have been back to back… andddd I just watched it again. I STILL GETS THE GOOSEBUMPS GAIZ!! This movie is visually stunning, it’s exciting, sweet, intense, hilarious, all of the things you could want out of a fantasy type movie. I dare say, I think I enjoyed the movie better than the book. Don’t get me wrong, as you can see from my previous review, the book is great, go read it. I just thought the movie was laid out better and here’s why:

#1.) The movie is way more intense than the book. A great example of this is the character Ridley. Yes, she IS portrayed as a Dark Caster, but in the book, Ethan admits that he didn’t take her as seriously as he should have. She almost sounds like a little girl doing “naughty” things such as her blowing out speakers at the school dance. Not exactly frightening. But in the movie, there’s no taking Ridley for anything but Dark. For example, the first time we meet Ridley here, she takes control over a highway trooper and makes him run his car off the road. Now this is someone I would not want anything to do with.

#2.) Not only was the movie more brutal, it was also HILARIOUS! Book Ethan was already a charmer but movie Ethan had me cracking up almost the entire time, they couldn’t have chosen a better cast:

Lena: …..My family’s…… different….
Ethan: Different how?
Lena: We do things… we do *different* things…
Ethan: So, what – you’re from Europe?

LAWLZ! My husband was face deep in his phone and he even chuckled at this part.

#3.) Okay this one doesn’t necessarily make me like the movie better, I just thought this was a good decision on the movie maker’s part. As you may know (you probably do if you’re reading a SPOILER review), Ethan and Lena communicate with their thoughts throughout the book. I loved this, I thought it was a sweet connection that they shared, but I’m glad they left this out of the movie. I think it would’ve made it really awkward. Anytime I’ve seen a movie where they can hear someone’s thoughts, it just looks so unnatural. Not saying spinning tables and causing lighting bolts to hit the ground near you is natural, but I think you get what I mean. So yeah, high five to whoever made that call!

#4.) Lena erases Ethan’s memory of her once she discovers what it’ll cost in order for her to lift the curse. GENIUS IDEA!! I really wish this were in the book! It was SO EMOTIONAL, GAH! I don’t know how Lena does it, I understand the circumstance but that would be SO RIDONKULOUSLY HARD to erase any memory of you from the person you love, THE PERSON YOU’RE MEANT TO BE WITH! Which leads me to….

#5.) The ending. Holy crap, the ending is AMAZEBALLS!!! My heart breaks for Lena, especially when Ethan drops by the library before he leaves for his college tour with Link. But as Link and Ethan are driving out of town, Ethan takes one last look at the “leaving Gatlin” sign and suddenly HE REMEMBERS HER!! I get goosebumps every time I see this scene, it is my favorite in the entire movie. It makes me so happy, I feel like a kid in a candy store! What a killer way to end this movie! But it also makes me so upset!! They have no plans to make a second movie and I yearn to see a 2nd movie. With the same actors and director. I wish I were a Siren like Ridley. I would use my power and persuade every single one of those people who worked on this film to finish the entire series just for me. I mean, come on, you can’t leave me hanging like that and not do anything *sobs* I wish I hated this movie because it hurts more knowing I won’t get another :'[

Now on to a few things I don’t necessarily care for that they changed in the movie:

#1.) Revealing Seraphine’s hidden identity early on. One of the twists towards the end of the book was the big reveal of Seraphine hiding in Mrs. Lincoln so it kind of was a bummer that they didn’t leave that for surprise, BUT I didn’t hate how they did it. It was still shocking nonetheless and they made her so sinister and sassy that it was nice to experience that throughout a majority of the film.

#2.) Ethan getting shot. Okay this one was a bummer. I did not like this. At all. I think Seraphine stabbing Ethan was WAY more dramatic than Link accidentally shooting him with the bullet Ridley gave him. How did this movie that made the book become more exciting manage to dull this part down? Meh bleh blech. No bueno guys.

I didn’t mind that they left out Boo, Macon’s dog, or Marian, the actual librarian. I think Boo was a fun extra in the book to read about, but nothing significant enough to bring to film. And as far as Marian, I think they did a great job blending this character into Amma. It worked very well.

All in all, I will never understand how this movie didn’t do as well as it had hoped for and I will forever be heartbroken that it’s all I get. Call me crazy, call me blind, I don’t care, this movie will always have a place in my heart and my secret fangirl world.

One thought on “Beautiful Creatures (Movie Edition) **WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD**

    […] Click Here For My Book-To-Film Adaptation Review […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

