Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles #2) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Posted on Updated on

IMG_5366

Book Description:

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.

Sometimes life-ending.

Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan’s eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there’s no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town’s tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.

My Rating: 5/5. . . 10/5

HOLY GUACAMOLE!! Whoever read the first book, Beautiful Creatures, and decided against reading this second book missed out! Beautiful Darkness is one of those books that has you going chapter to chapter NEEDING to know what happens next! There were SO many brilliantly shocking moments, after the first few you had to wonder if this was all the book had to offer BUT IT KEEPS SHOCKING! I, personally, adored the first book. I can admit though, it was a little slow to read at times, but none the less, it will always be a favorite of mine. This book isn’t like that. It’s a very fast, exciting read from beginning to end. The first book was all about getting to know Ethan and Lena and their details of their families and Gatlin, etc. This book, the second, is all about where they go from there and what a ride these ladies take us on!

Can I just keyboard scream for a second: WHY AREN’T THEY CONTINUING THIS AS A MOVIE?!?! I wanna see this on film sooooo bad with the same actors, the same director, UGHHH! Pull on my heart strings why don’t you?! :”'[

Let me just point out how much I love Ethan Wate:

Gramma stepped in front of Lena, closed her eyes, and touched a single finger to her granddaughter’s cheek. The moment she touched Lena, everything stopped, and I knew Gramma had used her abilities as an Empath to absorb Lena’s powers temporarily. But she couldn’t absorb Lena’s anger. None of us were strong enough to do that.  -pg. 15

FullSizeRender

Bahahaha, can anyone else relate to this? I know I have my moments 😄

Quick background to my personal life: My neighbors just put up a HUGE privacy fence! Our house is tucked back, so our neighbor’s backyard is in our front yard and the fence they put up is way over 6ft. tall. My husband and I call it “The Great Wall of Buhrke” (our last name). Ironically, the day they put this beast of a divider up, I also read this:

“Good fences make good neighbors.” -pg. 125

image1

You could say we’re FANTASTIC neighbors!

Most of the book, I was kind of heartbroken for Ethan. Every time Lena pulled away, she pulled my heart with her, I was all, “LENA, NUUUU!! Stahp being bad!!” I was rooting for her all the way up until the scene where Lena was snuggle-dancing with John Breed, like, dafuq was dat LE-NUH?! But one thing I LOVED that they did: They didn’t turn Ethan into a whiny pansy who’s bitch whipped by a girl. Yes, he was hurt like anyone would be, but instead of moping and running to Lena and begging for an explanation every 2 seconds, he did what a lot of normal people do. He acted out of spite. He chose his anger and acted on it by doing to her what she was doing to him. Now am I agreeing with these actions? Absolutely not, but let’s be honest, a majority of people in the real world would’ve handled this situation the same way Ethan was, so kudos to the writer’s for going down the realistic road instead of the road that would make me roll my eyes and forever loathe Ethan Wate.

And we finally found out who Ethan Wate really is!! Why he’s here, why he’s drawn to Lena, why EVERYTHING!! I was SO excited to read about this! And wait till you find out about Jane, whoa buddy, this part made me “EEEEEE!!” out loud. AND AUNT PRUE! I’m not going to give away WHAT you’ll find out but jeez louise, when you finally think the surprises are over with, another one smacks you in the face on the next page and it finally all comes together in a big “ah-ha!” moment.

Then there’s Ridley. This I was not sure I liked at first. I can’t say why, I don’t want to ruin ANYTHING with this sequel, but notice I said like(d)? Well that’s because of what happens near the end of the book, another “ah-ha!” moment where it’s all explained and for that, I ended up loving the outcome. If there was no wrap up for her, I would’ve hated what they did with Rid. It’s funny how you end up feeling sorry for someone who is so dark and did bad things.

And as if there weren’t already crazy reveals, WAIT TILL YOU GET TO THE END! I squealed, I jumped for joy, I sang, I danced…. well… not really… but I felt so bubbly I might as well have done all of that. It was the best ‘ERMERGERD‘ moment in the entire book.

I just… I have so many words for this book! Beautiful, shocking, thrilling, adventurous, exciting, sorrowful, sad, curious. . .

This book is a fun adventure from the first page to the last. I feel sorry for anyone who hasn’t picked it up. So if you haven’t, DO IT, DO IT MEOW! I can’t wait to see what the third book, Beautiful Chaos has in store for me 😀 I want to read it ASAP but I’m waiting until I get back from traveling for a few days because I want to give this book my FULL attention and I’m not sure how much time I’ll have to read or how many times I’ll be interrupted. That’s how much I want to read the next book. It’s NEEDS my full attention

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles #2) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

    2015 October Wrap Up « KayReads said:
    November 4, 2015 at 1:00 am

    […] 5/5 3.) Four by Veronica Roth – 4/5 4.) The Ice Dragon by George R.R. Martin – 4/5 5.) Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – 5/5 6.) Breed by Chase Novak – 3/5 7.) Far Far […]

    Like

    2015 September Bookhaul « TheNerdyBookmark said:
    January 30, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    […] Veronica Roth; hardcover 6.) Lord of the Clans, Bk. 2 (WarCraft) by Christie Golden; paperback 7.) Beautiful Darkness, Bk. 2 (Caster Chronicles/Beautiful Creatures Series) by Kami Garcia & Margart Stohl 8.) The Lightning Thief, Bk. 1 (Percy Jackson & The […]

    Like

    […] Creatures ⦁ Beautiful Darkness ⦁ Beautiful Chaos ⦁ Beautiful […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

