Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Posted on Updated on

image3

Book Description:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

My Rating: 5/5

I fell in love with him. But I don’t just stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me. -pg. 372

#troof

I FINALLY UNDERSTAND WHAT THE HYPE WAS ABOUT WITH THIS ENDING!! It was amazing! It was beautiful, sad, happy, depressing…. it was predictable yet unpredictable. It’s the reason why I went from giving this book a 4.5/5 to a 5/5.

That ending made the whole book worth the read. Not that it wasn’t worth reading, but if you thought Insurgent started out slow then you’re in for a treat – Allegiant’s EVEN SLOWER :D!!! But as with Insurgent, I do not mind a slow read within this series because it is so well written and I am so invested in these characters and their life that just got turned upside down that I want no details left out – and they weren’t!

The interesting thing about this book (ACTUALLY everything’s interesting about this book) is that it’s written in dual perspective. We’re not just getting Tris, but also Tobias. At first, I liked the idea. But then as I was reading, I kept forgetting I was reading under Tobias at times until I was reminded and then I felt like I had to replay everything in my head. I really thought this was going to mess up the book for me. But it didn’t. IF YOU HAD THIS PROBLEM, IT WILL GET BETTER AND YOU WILL READ UNDER BOTH OF THEM WITHOUT THINKING ABOUT IT, I PROMISE!! And when you get to the end, you’ll see why she wrote it this way. And I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way ❤

Even though I got use to this, I still battle with myself as to whether or not I like it. I do like seeing into Tobias’ mind but I also feel this makes him more vulnerable (as it would with anyone), but I feel like this kind of ruined my image of him in a way. He just didn’t seem as fearless anymore. Even though he had his 4 fears, he still hid behind them fairly well. And when you’re in his head, those fears are exposed. So it’s not that I disliked it I guess, it’s just having to paint another picture of the person I had come to know.

And if there were ever a quote that I could wholeheartedly relate to, it would be this:

Sometimes all I want is to be a few inches taller so the world does not look like a sense collection or torsos. -pg. 452

#supatroof – gaiz, I’m like. . 5’1. . .

There are 2 scenes in this book that really impacted my book rating:

1.) The explosion. That scene was written so incredibly well – I can’t wait to see this scene come to life on the big screen!

2.) Another one that they BETTER IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM TOUCH THIS IN THE MOVIE OR I WILL HUNT DEM DOWN – The VERY ending (for spoiler’s sake, I’m gonna hold back on this review because it’s not worth ruining for someone). HOLY CRAP, HOW BEAUTIFUL WAS THIS IF YOU READ IT?! What a perfect ending to such tragedy. What an honor, ugh, out of everything that led up to this point, THIS IS WHAT MADE ME CRY! But happy tears! The second I closed this book, I had tears in my eyes, the biggest smile on my face and the book resting against my forehead. After what felt like a lifetime, I finally let out a big sigh of “time to move on” and “wow…… what an awesome ending….” and then shouted to my unlistening husband: “ON TO FOUR!!” 😀

I can not wait for this movie! I loved Divergent and Insurgent so much – I just got done watching the Allegiant trailer and I GOTS GOOSEBUMPS GAIZ! I dunno if I’m ready, I mean I’m definitely ready like now, but I dunno if I can handle seeing this ><; !!!

This is the trailer I watched (if you haven’t seen the other movies, it gives a brief summary of them):

Allegiant Trailer via IMDB

So yeah, if you didn’t get it by now – READ THIS BOOK! (I will do a series wrap up in the near future which I will link once published)

3 thoughts on “Allegiant by Veronica Roth

    2015 October Wrap Up « KayReads said:
    November 4, 2015 at 1:00 am

    […] City of Words by Steven J. Carroll – 3.5/5 2.) Allegiant by Veronica Roth – 5/5 3.) Four by Veronica Roth – 4/5 4.) The Ice Dragon by George […]

    Like

    Divergent Series Wrap Up « KayReads said:
    November 12, 2015 at 1:24 am

    […] Allegiant […]

    Like

    2015 September Bookhaul « TheNerdyBookmark said:
    January 30, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    […] = $20 (free shipping @ $35 – also bought a DBZ Pop Vinyl for my main squeeze) 1.) Allegiant, Bk. 3 (Divergent Trilogy) by Veronica Roth; hardcover 2.) Four (Companion Novel to the Divergent Trilogy) by Veronica Roth; […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

