Far Far Away by Tom McNeal **WARNING: Slightly Spoilery**

Posted on Updated on

IMG_5825

Book Description:

It says quite a lot about Jeremy Johnson Johnson that the strangest thing about him isn’t even the fact his mother and father both had the same last name. Jeremy once admitted he’s able to hear voices, and the townspeople of Never Better have treated him like an outsider since. After his mother left, his father became a recluse, and it’s been up to Jeremy to support the family. But it hasn’t been up to Jeremy alone. The truth is, Jeremy can hear voices. Or, specifically, one voice: the voice of the ghost of Jacob Grimm, one half of the infamous writing duo, The Brothers Grimm.

Jacob watches over Jeremy, protecting him from an unknown dark evil whispered about in the space between this world and the next. But when the provocative local girl Ginger Boultinghouse takes an interest in Jeremy (and his unique abilities), a grim chain of events is put into motion. And as anyone familiar with the Grimm Brothers know, not all fairy tales have happy endings…

My Rating: 3.5/5

Although I enjoyed this read, the first 3/4 of the book are not that entertaining. I wouldn’t call it boring – because I wasn’t bored – but it definitely lacked any inkling of excitement. Let’s just say the ending really made this book for me. A majority of the story is rather s-l-o-w. I want to say the author did this on purpose though because there’s a few hints throughout the majority of the book as to what’s leading up to the end. It’s almost like he purposefully wants you to forgot so you can get smacked with a nice surprise in the end!

On to the plot twist – !!! I was SO happy and lost in the tranquility of this story and then BAM! I completely forgot about the past references to even connect the dots.. I’m thrilled and heart broken at the same time.. I believe I forgot because they didn’t really focus on the missing children but more so on Jeremy and Ginger – which I came to love.

And I swear those prince cakes kind of had me disappointed. I really thought they were going to be made of children.

I did yearn for the ending to be a little more dramatic though. Why didn’t the baker get whats coming to him? Why did all of the kids, including Possy live? I feel like there should have been SOME type of death or sad/brutal/shocking moment and for my taste, there just wasn’t -_-

All in all, this story lacked and left a lot of questions hanging in the end. Speaking of the end, this is what made me go from a 3 to a 3.5. Maybe not a huge jump to some, but to others it makes the difference (like myself). I’m not sure if I’ll ever re-read it again, but I might hang on to it for a bit. I wouldn’t cross it off that list just yet. I would definitely recommend it to people who want to read a lighthearted “creepy/spooky” book but aren’t interested in gore or really the horror genre in general.

Notes that have nothing to do with the story:

  • The book jacket = pretty sweet. Simple but effective.
  • Beautiful cover. It’s what drew me in (like most of my books, teehee).
  • Love the perspective through Jeremy Johnson Johnson’s ghost, Jacob Grimm. Clever way to tell the story!
  • Pg. 160: The Dauntless reference.. I recently finished the Divergent series – WEIRDUH! – Okay, maybe not that weird but I enjoy little tie ins like dis ^_^

IMG_5851

Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Far Far Away by Tom McNeal **WARNING: Slightly Spoilery**

    2015 October Wrap Up « KayReads said:
    November 10, 2015 at 12:50 am

    […] Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – 5/5 6.) Breed by Chase Novak – 3/5 7.) Far Far Away by Tom McNeal – […]

    Like

    2015 September Bookhaul « TheNerdyBookmark said:
    January 30, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    […] by Brodi Ashton; paperback 4.) Everbound, Bk. 2 (Everneath Series) by Brodi Ashton; paperback 5.) Far Far Away By Tom McNeal; paperback 6.) Frostfire, Bk. 1 (Kanin Chronicles) by Amanda Hocking; paperback 7.) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

