Beautiful Redemption by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl **WARNING: Slight Spoilers Ahead**

Posted on

image1

Book Description:

Is death the end . . . or only the beginning?

Ethan Wate has spent most of his life longing to escape the stiflingly small Southern town of Gatlin. He never thought he would meet the girl of his dreams, Lena Duchannes, who unveiled a secretive, powerful, and cursed side of Gatlin, hidden in plain sight. And he never could have expected that he would be forced to leave behind everyone and everything he cares about. So when Ethan awakes after the chilling events of the Eighteenth Moon, he has only one goal: to find a way to return to Lena and the ones he loves.
Back in Gatlin, Lena is making her own bargains for Ethan’s return, vowing to do whatever it takes — even if that means trusting old enemies or risking the lives of the family and friends Ethan left to protect.

Worlds apart, Ethan and Lena must once again work together to rewrite their fate, in this stunning finale to the Beautiful Creatures series.

My Rating:  4/5

This book is my least favorite out of the 4 books in the Beautiful Creatures/Caster Chronicles series.  I really feel that they should have just ended with Beautiful Chaos.  I would have liked it if they ended it the way they did in the previous book and left it leaving the reader to question what happens next and use their imagination – OR – to have added on a few more chapters with a summary of the near future.  I would have enjoyed it much better that way.  Unfortunately, this book just seemed unnecessary and that hurts to say because I LOVE these books.

It wasn’t bad though, don’t get me wrong!  I would follow this series if they kept going no matter what!  One thing I found kind of exciting was the authors let us read from Lena’s POV which has never happened before, so it was a nice treat getting inside of her head for a little bit :]

The book I ended up purchasing contained bonus content in the back (I always love unintentionally grabbing books with bonus goodies in them ^_^ ) which included a map of Gatlin (WHAAAT?!) and a few of Amma’s recipes (what a cute idea!!) which I can not wait to try!  These little touches can make a reader forget that these are all fictional characters which can be good or bad – and maybe slightly embarrassing if I begin to talk like they’re real.

One thing this book had that the others did not what a spooky element.  For example, that gate keeper – no thanks.  That gave me the chills reading his description.  Good for Ethan for continuing on after he encountered that haha

And if any of you are claustrophobic (I definitely am to an extent) you already know what scene I’m talking about if you’ve read this book.  For those that haven’t, there’s a part where Ethan has to cross a mountain to get to the other side and the ONLY way to do this is to squeeze through a super teeny tiny dark tunnel and crawl his way through.  BARF, I’m… no.. just .. no!

One HUGE let down this book had for me was how they played out Abraham’s death.  It was a little ‘bleh’ to say the least.  I feel like they could have dragged it out a little longer, it all happened way too quickly for a dude who’s suppose to be SUPER powerful, I mean come on… and there should have been an innocent death at that.  That’s what I was expecting anyway.  Like…. the first fight ever with Seraphine in the first book (Beautiful Creatures) was wayyyy more intense than this scene, and that’s rather unfortunate.  This really should have been a huge climax, and ultimately it just fell flat.  The last book shouldn’t leave me hanging like dis D’:

Overall this was still a good book so don’t let my first paragraph draw you away.  I end this series with a happy heart.  This has become a favorite of mine for sure.  Beautiful Creatures/Ethan Wate/Lena Duchannes….. will always have a place on my shelf and in my heart.  Please check out this series if you’re into magic/fantasy/adventure/romance… ugh these books are wonderful and each on different in their own way (but I’ll get to that when I do my series wrap up :]  )

Happy Reading!  xo

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Redemption by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl **WARNING: Slight Spoilers Ahead**

    2015 « TheNerdyBookmark said:
    December 3, 2015 at 12:41 am

    […] Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – 5/5 2.)  Beautiful Redemption by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – 4/5 3.)  The Witch’s Kiss Ep. 1 by Antara Mann […]

    Like

    2015 September Bookhaul « TheNerdyBookmark said:
    January 30, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    […] 1. ) A World Without Princes, Bk.2 (School for Good and Evil) by Soman Chainani; hardcover 2.) Beautiful Redemption, Bk.4 (Caster Chronicles/Beautiful Creatures Series) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl; paperback 3.) Everneath, Bk.1 (Everneath Series) by Brodi […]

    Like

    […] ⦁ Beautiful Creatures ⦁ Beautiful Darkness ⦁ Beautiful Chaos ⦁ Beautiful Redemption […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

