2016 January Bookhaul

Posted on Updated on

IMG_6927

January bookhaul – New Year, new haul!

On to the books! I’ll have a list below of each book pictured, where I got them, paperback or hardcover, special editions and how much my total purchase at each place was! If you have any more questions – or comments – about this months haul, please feel free to leave/ask them below 😀 Happy reading!

Total Books: 18
Total Spent: $27.54

Thrift Store 1 – $19.98
1.) The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown; hardcover
2.) The Fiery Cross by Diana Galbaldon; hardcover
3.) Brisingr by Christopher Paolini; hardcover
4.) Sabriel by Garth Nix; paperback
5.) Doctor Who: Judgement of the Judoon by Colin Brake; hardcover
6.) The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore; hardcover
7.) The Host by Stephenie Meyer; hardcover
8.) The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson; hardcover
9.) Airframe by Michael Crichton; hardcover
10.) Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer; hardcover
11.) Marked by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast; paperback
12.) J.K. Rowling: The Wizard Behind Harry Potter by Marc Shapiro; paperback
13.) The Black Unicorn by Terry Brooks; hardcover
14.) The Magykal Papers by Angie Sage; hardcover

Thrift Store 2 –$7.56
1.) Lord of the Flies by William Golding; paperback
2.) Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen; paperback
3.) Burned by Eileen Hopkins; paperback
4.) Arthas: Rise of the Lich King by Christie Golden; paperback

-1 The Painted Lady, this was apart of December’s haul and she somehow snuck her way in to this pic, attention whore.  I don’t have time to retake this picture as I’m headed to work and this is the 2nd month in a row I’ve snuck in an extra book 😛

I also acquired another version of The Host by Stephenie Meyer BECAUSE I had the paperback/movie cover version and I couldn’t resist when I saw the original hardcover edition for only $1.75!  I’m a sucker for hardcovers!

As well, I use to own a paperback of Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer but a friend (no longer a friend) once borrowed it and due to previous statement, I clearly never got it back.  I was very sad about this loss as I am a fan of Twilight and am very anal about my belongings.  This was AT LEAST 6/7 years ago.  I’m still mad, I still want my book back, hmph.

Hope everyone had a great month buying books!  How many did you acquire this haul?

3 thoughts on “2016 January Bookhaul

    jazzycliffhanger said:
    February 10, 2016 at 3:08 pm

    I’ve read Marked, Breaking Dawn, and Lord of the Flies.
    The beginning of Marked was kind of slow to me, but it does pick up eventually after like eighty pages. Although, the series is very looong. 😩
    Breaking Dawn was awesome. I loved Twilight. I know how you feel, that’s why I’m really wary about loaning some people books at times unless they’re my best friends.
    The Lord of the Flies is a deep story if you think about how symbolic it truly is. I don’t want to spoil it for you, but it’s a spectacular book! 👍

    Like

      thenerdybookmark responded:
      February 10, 2016 at 3:14 pm

      Well – that lady was not only my best friend at the time, she was also my boss and had lived with me before. BUT she did something very terrible at the time so I had to let go of that book haha but that was seriously many, many years ago now. As far as The Lord of the Flies, I’ve seen the movie several times, which is amazing, so I can only imagine the book is as well :] I’ve heard mixed reviews about Marked and the rest of the series but I figured it was only like $0.75, so if I don’t like it, it’s not like I’m losing much 😛

      Liked by 1 person

        jazzycliffhanger said:
        February 10, 2016 at 3:25 pm

        Wow 😧
        Yeah, it depends on what it is exactly you like in a book. At first it was only the main character’s POV, but then it goes into everyone else’s POV about four or five books later. For me personally, somewhere around the seventh or eighth book it started to lose some spark for me. But the book that annoyed me the most was actually the second to last one. Since I’ve read that book, I haven’t been able to get past the first few pages of the final book.

        Like

Leave a Reply

